October 8

Camping allowed in Queen Anne parks? Proposed City Council plan includes Queen Anne parks & sidewalks

Local News, Parks

7  comments

KING5 obtained two maps prepared by the Seattle Department of Transportation (SDOT) and Seattle Parks and Recreation that outline the parks and sidewalks that could be suitable for homeless camping if a new ordinance is approved by the Seattle City Council this Friday, October 14th.

In addition to notable Seattle parks the Arboretum and Discovery Park, these maps include quite a few locations on Queen Anne, including:

Per the language in the proposal, 167 miles of sidewalks and nearly 5,200 acres of city parks and greenbelts would be open for camping. All of the above spots and more are on the proposed maps – excerpts that show Queen Anne are below:

Parks & Greenbelts (click for full map):

Sidewalks (click for full map)

Councilmember Tim Burgess, also a Queen Anne resident, has issued a statement on the proposed plan. You can read his statement here. He also provided this statement to KING5:

“It’s just not in the public interest in my view. The legislation, as it’s written today, would essentially create a right to camp in the city, and as long as you keep moving you can camp in the city forever.”

If you have feedback, questions, or concerns about this proposal, contact the Seattle City Council. You can find contact information for all City Councilmembers (phone and email) at this link. Our Councilmember is Sally Bagshaw, and Tim Burgess and Lorena Gonzalez are City-wide Councilmembers.

You are welcome to contact any and all of the members of the City Council. To learn more about how this same approach to camping in parks and on sidewalks worked out in Portland, check out Danny Westneat’s Seattle Times article, Now Seattle Wants to Copy Portland’s Disastrous Homeless Camping Policy.

If you have concerns, questions, or feedback on how the City maintains and operates the parks that taxpayers fund, contact the City Council, the Seattle Park District, or Jesus Aguirre, Superintendent, Seattle Parks and Recreation. Contact the City Council before Friday, October 14th, when this proposal goes to a vote.

EDIT: While contact information is linked in the post above, many people are still asking for contact information. Here’s a list:

Ed Murray
206-684-4000
http://www.seattle.gov/mayor/get-involved/contact-the-mayor

Sally Bagshaw
206-684-8801
sally.bagshaw@seattle.gov

Tim Burgess
206-684-8806
tim.burgess@seattle.gov

Lorena Gonzales
206-684-8802
lorena.gonzalez@seattle.gov

Bruce Harrell
206-684-8804
bruce.harrell@seattle.gov

Lisa Herbold
206-684-8803
lisa.herbold@seattle.gov

Rob Johnson
206-684-8808
rob.johnson@seattle.gov

Debora Juarez
206-684-8805
debora.juarez@seattle.gov

Mike O’Brien
206-684-8800
mike.obrien@seattle.gov

Kshama Sawant
206-684-8016
kshama.sawant@seattle.gov


Tags

camp, camping, City Council, homeless, homeless camps, map, parks, SDOT


You may also like

Candidate Forum Tonight

Fort Lawton Re-Development meeting tonight

Subscribe to our newsletter now!